“When the components of yoga are practiced, impurities dwindle; then the light of understanding can shine forth, illuminating the way to discriminative awareness. The eight components of yoga are external discipline, internal discipline, posture, breath regulation, concentration, meditative absorption, and integration. The five external disciplines are not harming (ahimsa), truthfulness (satya), not stealing (asteya), celibacy (brahmachari) and not being acquisitive (aparigraha). These universals, transcending birth, place, era, or circumstance, constitute the great vow of yoga. “

The Yoga-Sutra of Patanjali 2.29- 2.31

Welcome back. My name is Dr. Christie Smirl. I am a Doctorate of Ayurveda, AyuD, Nurse Practitioner and Master of Science with 30 years of hospital experience. As an advanced yoga/meditation teacher trainer, ERYT500, YACEP, I wanted to share a series of videos on yoga. This second video in the series is about the YAMAS: LIMB 1 OF ASHTANGA YOGA.

Like, comment, share and subscribe to get all updates and new videos.

If you are interested in yoga/meditation teacher training certifications, contact me through http://www.HealthierVibrations.com. The programs are online, self-paced with my one-on-one personal mentorship.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s