Svadhisthana Chakra Therapy by Dr. Christie Smirl

The second of the primary 7 chakras is the svadhisthana chakra. In English it is referred to as the sacral chakra. In Sanskrit, svadhisthana means “one’s own base”. This chakra is symbolized by an orange 6 petaled lotus flower representing the mastery over 6 modes of consciousness, known as vrittis: affection, pitilessness, feeling of all-destructiveness, delusion, disdain and suspicion. Svadhishthana is associated with the unconscious and with emotion.

Anatomically, the svadhisthana chakra is located just below the naval and above the pubis bone. Physiologically it governs proper prana flow to the large intestines, kidneys, bladder, uterus, ovaries, gonads, sacral spine and inner thighs. If the svadhisthana chakra is imbalanced it may be evidenced by low back pain, reproductive problems, pelvic pain, sexual dysfunctions or urinary problems.

The governing sense organ and action is the tongue and sense of taste.

Psychologically, the svadhisthana chakra supports emotions related to creativity, passion, enthusiasm, sensuality and boundaries. The shadow emotion that creates imbalance at the level of the svadhishtana is guilt. This chakra is primarily developed between the ages 7 years old and onset of puberty. During this stage, the svadhisthana chakra facilitates and stores energies and memories related to emotional connections, creativity, early relationships and the ability to experience pleasure. When children or adults are shamed, made to feel bad, over controlled, unloved, neglected or isolated the svadhisthana may constrict pranic flow. Children at this age need to feel able to express their passions and enthusiasm for life in an environment that promotes creativity and protected boundaries.
The primary emotion that inhibits full development of the svadhisthana chakra of is guilt. If the svadhisthana chakra is hypo or hyperactive individuals may demonstrate poor social skills, lack of excitement for life, emotional over-sensitivity or controlling patterns. Children at this stage need to be able to explore, express, create and make mistakes. A phrase often heard from children at this time is “I can do it all by self”. Erikson’s stages of development encourage safe degrees of autonomy and self initiative to avoid feelings of shame and inferiority. Maslow encourages family support and self initiative to advance to higher tiers of self actualization. So let young children fumble, find their way, color outside the lines and express themselves within a healthy environment.

To balance the Svadhisthana chakra at any age several therapeutics can be implemented such as sound therapy, chanting, aromatherapy, affirmations, meditations, crystal therapy and color therapy. To learn more about class and certifications in chakra work, visit

Dr. Christie Smirl has over 25 years of medical experience. She completed a Doctorate of Ayurvedic Medicine from American University of Complimentary Medicine as well as Nurse Practitioner and Master of Science from Loma Linda University. Dr. Christie is also an E-RYT 500 Yoga Teacher Trainer YACEP, Reiki Master/Teacher, Tantric Energy Healer and Musician.

Follow Dr. Christie Smirl by connecting with her below, just click the connection icons.

DR Christie Smirl Healthier Vibrations.jpg

anchor-masthead youtube-logo-nuevo wordpress-logo


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s